Our Role

The mission of the Ontario Forage Council is to provide leadership to the Ontario forage industry through communication, research, technology transfer, market development, advocacy, policy development and bringing stakeholders together.

Organization Objectives:

  • to act as the primary forage information source,
  • to collaborate with other Ontario agricultural organizations for the development of information and educational materials as well as other service related projects for forages,
  • to assist in the objective development of research priorities, coordination of research projects, and patent registration related to forage production, management and marketing,
  • to promote the positive environmental impacts of forage and grassland on soil and water conservation, carbon sequestration, reclamation, wildlife habitat and aesthetic value,
  • to identify, receive and distribute funds to support development of the Ontario forage industry,
  • to develop and promote market innovations at the local and export levels (i.e. pharmaceutical and nutraceutical products).

Our Executive Team

President

Terry Nuhn
4863 Perth Line 36 RR #5
Stratford, ON N5A 6S6
519-393-5770
terrynuhn@yahoo.ca

1st Vice President

Scott Bowman
sbowman@speareseeds.ca

Past President

Don Oliver
3491 Wallace Point Road
Peterborough, ON K9J 6Y3
705-742-2147
oliverettefarm@hotmail.com

Our Directors

NameCompanyEmail Address
Joe DickinsonBeef Farmers of Ontariojoe@dickensonfarms.com
Mark HammelDairy Farmers of OntarioMark.hamel@milk.org
Jennifer McTavishOntario Sheep Farmersgeneral@ontariosheep.org
Terry NuhnNuhn Foragenuhnforage@quaro.net
Ashley KnaptonCorteva Agrisicence™,
Agriculture Division of DowDuPont
Ashley.Knapton@corteva.com
Ray MacDonaldCan Grow Crop Solutions Inc.ray@cangrow.com
Brigit MartinOSCIAbmartin@ontariosoilcrop.org
Ari EksteinQuality Seedsari@qualityseeds.ca
Fred BrownQuality Seedsfred@qualityseeds.ca
Scott BowmanSpeare Seedssbowman@speareseeds.ca
Bill BrownGROWMARKbbrown@growmark.com
Scott FisherMapleseedscott.fisher@mapleseed.ca
Ron PiettA & L Canada Laboratoriesrpiett@alcanada.com
Dean ShantzPestell Minerals & Ingredientsdshantz@pestell.com
Donna HancockUniversity of Guelphdhancock@uofguelph.ca
Tom FaulknerProrich Seedsdeb_prorich@hotmail.com
Travis GrubbKubota Canadatravis.grubb@kubota.com
Bob KerrIndividual Memberbobpatkerr@gmail.com
Jon GoughDLF PICKSEEDjgough@dlfpickseed.com
Jack LeggSGS Agrifood LaboratoriesJack.legg@sgs.com
Andrew GrahamOSCIAagraham@ontariosoilcrop.org
Doug YungblutYungblut and Associatesdoug.yungblut@sympatico.ca
Scott ThompsonInternational Stock Foodss.thomson@quadro.net
Neil WidemanMaxx Equine; Silo Kingneilwideman@yahoo.ca
Carol HorstMarcrest Manufacturing, Inc.carol@balebaron.com
Christine O’Reilly (ex-officio)OMAFRA Forage & Grazier SpecialistChristine.OReilly@ontario.ca

Our Staff

Manager

Ray Robertson
Box 463
Markdale, Ontario
NOC 1HO
Phone: 877-892-8663
Fax: 519-986-2643
ray@greyagservices.ca    

Communications Assistant

Joan McKinlay
RR 1
Ravenna, Ontario
NOH 2E0
Phone: 519-599-6236
Fax: 519-599-6236
jmckinlay@bmts.com

Executive Assistant

Patricia Ellingwood
Box 463
Markdale, Ontario
NOC 1HO
Phone: 877-892-8663
Fax: 519-986-2643
support@ontarioforagecouncil.com